Posted by: barbaraneill | May 16, 2014

Dyspraxia, Hypersensitivity, Lollipops and Forks

When I was a child I loved ice lollies. In that respect, at least, I was no different from most other children. However, instead of just taking off the wrapper, discarding it and devouring the lolly, I would remove the wrapper, fold it carefully and wrap it round the lolly stick because I couldn’t bear the feel of the wooden stick. It would set my teeth on edge to touch it.

I rarely eat ice lollies nowadays but, if I did, I would still cover the stick with the wrapper because I still don’t like the feel of the wooden stick. I think I’ve learned a little more tolerance over the years but, in spite of that, I still suffer with low tolerance of certain textures. Occasionally, I’ll enjoy a bag of chips from a fish and chip shop and, because I like to keep my hands clean, I’ll happily use one of the small wooden chip forks, normally available from a dispenser on the counter. I can tolerate the feel of the chip fork in my hand and I can remove the chip, easily, with my mouth but I wasn’t aware of the avoidance strategy I was using until a couple of days ago.

Quite by chance, I happened to bump into none other than my dear friend and colleague, Matthew Munson, who is also the other half of The Two Dyspraxics, (look us up on Facebook and/or YouTube if you haven’t encountered us before). We were at the same conference. It was lunchtime and the only hot food available consisted, mainly, of noodles. That, in itself, could be a tall order for dyspraxics but both Matthew and I have developed coping strategies for eating, especially in public, (see www.bneill-hypnotherapy.com for more details of my coping strategy). The actual ‘eating’ of the noodles wasn’t a huge problem but the only cutlery available consisted of wooden chopsticks or wooden forks. I used to eat Chinese food with chopsticks but that was a long time ago and I’m bound to be a bit rusty by now, so I opted for the wooden fork. The noodles tasted very nice, and holding the fork in my hand wasn’t too bad but the feel of the wooden fork in my mouth was almost unbearable.

I have to say that, because it’s very unusual for me to use wooden cutlery, my reaction came as quite a surprise. It just goes to show that regardless of how long we have been living with dyspraxia, (in my case, nearly sixty years), there’s always something new, and interesting, to discover. As a result of this latest discovery I will, of course, develop a hypnotherapy programme to help.

Details of Barbara’s new book; “Dyspraxia and Hypnotherapy” can be found here: http://www.barbara-neill.co.uk

Leave a Reply

Categories

