Posted by: barbaraneill | June 30, 2014

Dyspraxia and Knitting

Knitting; Day 1

Knitting; Day 1

 

 

 

 

Knitting; Day 2

Knitting; Day 2

Knitting; Day 3

Knitting; Day 3

Knitting; Day 4

Knitting; Day 4

Knitting; Day 5

Knitting; Day 5

As I’ve said before, I’ve ever considered myself a ‘natural’ when it comes to knitting. Dyspraxia doesn’t help, of course. My fine motor skills, as a dyspraxic person, are as expected; not brilliant. However, I do like a challenge now and again and, in spite of my earlier misgivings, I have made progress with my knitting project that I can hardly believe.

After only five days, I have something that is beginning to look more like a jumper than just a few rows of knitting on a needle. Because I have chosen stripes of different colours, it has helped to spur me on; looking forward to the next colour-change, which has, undoubtedly aided progress. Tying the ‘new’ colour onto the existing one is, I’m finding, very challenging as it’s quite reminiscent of that old dyspraxia favourite, ‘tying shoelaces’.

However, I won’t focus on that. I shall, instead, revel in the progress I’ve made, so far, and keep my sights on the next stage in the process. Time to go now. I have some knitting to do.

Responses

  1. Well done Babara. My trouble is messing up steps, memory is terrible. My hands are aching so much at he moment that I can’t even continue. It’s so frustrating. Do have this problem?

    • Hi Penny.

      Thank you for your comment. I also have short-term memory problems and, as far as the knitting goes, my hands ache after a while too. The best way to tackle it is to just do a little at a time, I find.

      Do you know about The Two Dyspraxics videos on YouTube? My friend, Matthew Munson and I have made lots of videos about various aspects of Dyspraxia which you might find helpful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

